National Executive Board



Protecting the interests of cities, the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) is committed to bringing local urban governance agenda at the forefront of the country’s development strategies. As the mandated organization of the Philippine cities, the LCP believes effective change in the national consciousness starts with the primary visions of the local government units.


On July 25, 1987, former President Corazon Aquino issued Executive Order No. 262 that created the League of City Mayors of the Philippines. Then Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon Jr. was elected as its founding president and Lipa City Mayor Ruben L. Umali as the secretary-general.


It was also during that time when local government units – provinces, cities, municipalities, and the barangays – clamoured for genuine reforms. Local chief executives lobbied for a new Local Government Code which granted the national government to only supervise and not control the LGUs.


After years of hard advocacy work, Congress passed the Republic Act 7160, the Local Government Code, on October 10, 1991. Under Section 499, LCP is finally institutionalized for the “primary purpose of ventilating, articulating, and crystallizing issues affecting city government administration...”


The change in nomenclature transformed the character of LCP from an organization of political personalities to a membership-based institution where the cities – and not their political leaders – are accountable entities.


Through the years, LCP’s services have evolved from administrative to policy, technical, and programs support.


The LCP has a national executive board, its highest policy-making body, composed of 30 voting members. It also has a secretariat jointly supervised by the president and secretary-general.


Below are the 2019-2022 National Executive Board Officers:


National Chairman

Hon. Edgardo C. Labella
Cebu City

National Vice Chairman

Hon. Ronnel C. Rivera
General Santos City

National President

Hon. Evelio R. Leonardia
Bacolod City

Executive Vice President

Hon. Josefina G. Belmonte-Alimurung
Quezon City

Vice President for Luzon

Hon. Francis Anthony S. Garcia
Balanga City

Vice President for Visayas

Hon. Felipe Antonio B. Remollo
Dumaguete City

Vice President for Mindanao

Hon. Sammy S. Co
Pagadian City

Vice President for NCR

Hon. Edwin L. Olivarez
Parañaque City

Secretary General

Hon. Arnan C. Panaligan
Calapan City

Deputy Secretary General for Luzon

Hon. Patricia G. Alsua
Ligao City

Deputy Secretary General for Visayas

Hon. Nicholas M. Yulo
Bago City

Deputy Secretary General for Mindanao

Hon. Azucena P. Huervas
Valencia City

Deputy Secretary General for NCR

Hon. Lino Edgardo S. Cayetano
Taguig City


Hon. Antonio A. Ferrer
General Trias City


Hon. Emerson D. Pascual
Gapan City

Public Relations Officer

Hon. Richard I. Gomez
Ormoc City

Deputy P.R.O. for Luzon

Hon. Rolen C. Paulino, Jr.
Olongapo City

Deputy P.R.O. for Visayas

Hon. Francis Frederick P. Palanca
Victorias City

Deputy P.R.O. for Mindanao

Hon. Darel Dexter T. Uy
Dipolog City

Deputy P.R.O. for NCR

Hon. Francis Javier M. Zamora
San Juan City

Women's Sector Representative

Hon. Carmelita A. Abalos
Mandaluyong City


Granting Authority to make Advance Payments for the Procurement of COVID-19 Vaccines
February 19, 2021
LOOK: Memorandum Order No. 51 signed by President Duterte granting the national government and local government units (LGUs) authority to make advance payments exceeding the 15\% limit for the procurement of COVID-19 vaccines.
The Advocate
January 15, 2021
The Q1-Q2 2020 issue of our official newsletter features the League's mid-year accomplishments including our response to COVID-19.
BAKUNADO, PROTEKTADO: Restoring Vaccine Confidence in Cities
September 9, 2020
The League of Cities of the Philippines, in partnership with MSD Philippines, is pleased to invite you, your City Health Officer, or your Local Health Board members to a webinar entitled: BAKUNADO, PROTEKTADO: Restoring Vaccine Confidence in Cities. This will be held on 18 September 2020 at 1:00-2:30PM via Zoom.
Save the Date: Liveable Cities Labs Session on the Value and Use of Data for Managing LGUs
August 25, 2020
I am inviting city mayors and LGU officers to support the Liveable Cities Labs co-organized by the LCP by attending the fourth webinar of the online series entitled Data Analytics 101: The Value and Use of Data for Managing LGUs on 02 September 2020 (Wednesday) from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.