Regional Representatives



Protecting the interests of cities, the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) is committed to bringing local urban governance agenda at the forefront of the country’s development strategies. As the mandated organization of the Philippine cities, the LCP believes effective change in the national consciousness starts with the primary visions of the local government units.


On July 25, 1987, former President Corazon Aquino issued Executive Order No. 262 that created the League of City Mayors of the Philippines. Then Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon Jr. was elected as its founding president and Lipa City Mayor Ruben L. Umali as the secretary-general.


It was also during that time when local government units – provinces, cities, municipalities, and the barangays – clamoured for genuine reforms. Local chief executives lobbied for a new Local Government Code which granted the national government to only supervise and not control the LGUs.


After years of hard advocacy work, Congress passed the Republic Act 7160, the Local Government Code, on October 10, 1991. Under Section 499, LCP is finally institutionalized for the “primary purpose of ventilating, articulating, and crystallizing issues affecting city government administration...”


The change in nomenclature transformed the character of LCP from an organization of political personalities to a membership-based institution where the cities – and not their political leaders – are accountable entities.


Through the years, LCP’s services have evolved from administrative to policy, technical, and programs support.


The LCP has a national executive board, its highest policy-making body, composed of 30 voting members. It also has a secretariat jointly supervised by the president and secretary-general.


Below are the 2019-2022 Regional Representatives and Focal Mayors:


Regional Representative for CAR

Hon. Darwin C. Estrañero
Tabuk City
Regional Representatives for Region I Hon. Juan Carlo S. Medina
Vigan City
Regional Representatives for Region II Hon. Joseph S. Tan
Santiago City
Regional Representatives for Region III Hon. Nestor L. Alvarez
Science City of Muñoz
Regional Representatives for NCR Hon. Oscar G. Malapitan
Caloocan City
Regional Representatives for Region IV-A Hon. Arlene B. Arcillas
Santa Rosa City
Regional Representatives for Region IV-B Hon. Lucilo R. Bayron
Puerto Princesa City
Regional Representatives for Region V Hon. Madelaine Y. Alfelor
Iriga City
Regional Representatives for Region VI Hon. Mark Andrew J. Golez
Silay City
Regional Representatives for Region VII Hon. John Geesnell L. Yap II
Tagbilaran City
Regional Representatives for Region VIII Hon. Nacional V. Mercado
Maasin City
Regional Representatives for Region IX Hon. Maria Isabelle G. Climaco
Zamboanga City
Regional Representatives for Region X Hon. Jennifer W. Tan
Tangub City
Regional Representatives for Region XI Hon. Al David T. Uy
Island Garden City of Samal
Regional Representatives for Region XII Hon. Angelo O. Montilla
Tacurong City
Regional Representative for CARAGA Hon. Ernest U. Matugas
Surigao City
Regional Representative for BARMM Hon. Rosita U. Furigay
Lamitan City
Focal Mayor for Anti-Criminality and Illegal Drugs
Hon. Benjamin B. Magalong
Baguio City
Focal Mayor for Education Hon. Florencio T. Flores
Malaybalay City
Focal Mayor for the Environment, Climate Change
and Disaster Risk Reduction and Management
Hon. Noel E. Rosal
Legazpi City
Focal Mayor for Gender and Development Hon. Rowena T. Tuason
Masbate City
Focal Mayor for Health Hon. Ericson G. Singson
Candon City
Focal Mayor for Infrastructure Development Hon. Bernard Faustino M. Dy
Cauayan City
Focal Mayor for International Cooperation Hon. Imelda G. Calixto-Rubiano
Pasay City
Focal Mayor for Migration and Development Hon. Stephen A. Palmares
Passi City
Focal Mayor for Mobility and Transport Hon. Lani Mercado-Revilla
Bacoor City
Focal Mayor for Muslim Affairs Hon. Majul Usman Gandamra
Marawi City
Focal Mayor for Peace and Development in Mindanao Hon. Frances Cynthia J. Guiani-Sayadi
Cotabato City
Focal Mayor for Sustainable Development Goals Hon. Cielo Krisel Lagman-Luistro
Tabaco City
Focal Mayor for Youth and Sports Development Hon. Julier C. Resuello
San Carlos City, Pangasinan


Granting Authority to make Advance Payments for the Procurement of COVID-19 Vaccines
February 19, 2021
LOOK: Memorandum Order No. 51 signed by President Duterte granting the national government and local government units (LGUs) authority to make advance payments exceeding the 15\% limit for the procurement of COVID-19 vaccines.
The Advocate
January 15, 2021
The Q1-Q2 2020 issue of our official newsletter features the League's mid-year accomplishments including our response to COVID-19.
Appeal for coordinated assistance to affected cities of Typhoon Quinta, Rolly, and Ulysses
November 16, 2020
The unprecedented landfall of three (3) tropical storms in three weeks or from October 25 to November 11 in the country has greatly affected our cities from Luzon. Based on the available Situational Reports from the National Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (NDRRMC), a total of 64 cities have been affected by Typhoon Quinta, Rolly, and Ulysses.
Roundtable Consultation on Metropolitan Transport with Clean Air Asia
October 22, 2020
We invite you to an online consultation with Clean Air Asia on 27 October 2020 (Tuesday), from 2:30 to 6:15 p.m., to deepen the conversation on the importance of establishing and reorganizing transport authorities and executives.